Lloris: I did not sign for Tottenham to be on the bench

Tottenham goalkeeper Hugo Lloris has insisted he is happy with his situation at the club, after seemingly dislodging Brad Friedel as the club’s No.1.

The Frenchman signed for Spurs on transfer deadline day but was initially benched by manager Andre Villas-Boas with the American in fine form.

However, having started in Sunday’s 2-0 win over Aston Villa, the former Lyon keeper has reiterated that he has no problems with his start to life in north London.

“We have to put things into perspective. I just spent a month with Spurs, I arrived during the season with a team in place and I have only missed three games,” Lloris told reporters.

“Against Manchester United, I wanted to be on the pitch. Things are clear, I have not signed for Tottenham for this role.

“I think it will happen naturally. I am in the service of the team, I respect everyone, I came to play but I have no guarantee. The coach will make his choice.”

Lloris’ starting role against Villa brought to an end Friedel’s run of 310 consecutive Premier League games, but the 25-year-old believes competition should be expected at a club like Spurs.

“I talked with the coach, there was no ambiguity. He told me that everyone wanted I come to Tottenham and England,” he added.

“Only the manager has some control over these things. But I can not control what is written. Compared to what is said and what I hear, everything is going very well.

“There are four high quality goalkeepers here, and choices are made by the coach, I have just been recruited as part of a future project, but the project of the future starts now.

“Competition exists everywhere, but relations with Brad Friedel, with goalkeeping coach [Tony Parks] and manager are good.

“After that, it is not me who manages the communication. I’m back, I’m training and I am happy to play.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.