Erling Haaland, Ollie Watkins and David Raya win Castrol Golden Awards

It’s been a truly historic season of Premier League football.

Records have been shattered, wonderful goals have been scored, shocking results have occurred, and a thrilling title race and relegation battle have both been enjoyed.

After all that, it’s time to hand out some awards.

Here’s the three winners of Castrol’s Golden Awards:

Erling HaalandErling Haaland

Top scorer / Robbie Jay Barratt – AMA/GettyImages

Having enjoyed a record-breaking first season in the Premier League in 2022/23, Erling Haaland has continued to score goals for fun in 2023/24.

The towering striker has been exceptional in the final third throughout the season, netting a thoroughly impressive 27 goals – including a brace in Man City’s most important game of the season against Tottenham Hotspur.

Expect this to be the second of many Golden Boot awards he picks up during his time in the Premier League.

Ollie WatkinsOllie Watkins

Impressive season / Visionhaus/GettyImages

Under the tutelage of Unai Emery, Ollie Watkins has gone from a very good striker to a world class one.

He enjoyed a career-best campaign this season, bagging a whopping 32 goal contributions to inspire Aston Villa to a top four finish.

His 13 assists were also enough to earn him this season’s Playmaker award.

David RayaDavid Raya

Impressive debut season at Arsenal / Michael Regan/GettyImages

Signed from Brentford on loan in the summer, David Raya has had a huge impact at Arsenal in his first season with the club.

As well as helping his side effectively play out from the back, he’s also kept a league high 16 clean sheets and conceded a league low 29 goals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.